Stress

It’s 4 am. I should be sound asleep, preparing myself for my 8am class and a busy Monday. Instead, I am lying in a tepid bath with my trusty cat companion perched on the side of the tub. I’m supposed to be in court Tuesday morning, and I’m stressed. This was supposed to be simple. My ex-husband gave up his custody and the child support is supposed to be adjusted accordingly. It’s a simple matter….except that my ex-husband can never leave it at that. He’s claiming that he has some medical condition requiring $900 of therapy a month, and that it may become permanent. He’s claiming that he fully supports our 20 year old son (who is in a non-profit vocational program and lives in the dorms and receives a living stipend). He’s claiming that I owe him half the cost of medical co-pays for our daughter which were paid from his medical account with his permission before our divorce. He’s claiming that I haven’t made a “good faith effort” to become self sufficient….because despite being a stay home parent for 20 years, 3 years should be plenty of time for me to get an education and make the same amount that he does with his BS and 10 +years of experience.
The difference in child support, as I calculate it- if the court doesn’t agree with adjusting his expenses, is $200 more a month. It’s not a huge amount, but it would allow me to be home more. Despite the breathing room it would give me, I’m not sure if I’m up to going to court over it. I’m so tired of the bullshit, the penny pinching and fighting….I wish he acted like a rational person and we could have a normal conversation. I don’t know if this fight is worth it right now.

One thought on “Stress

Leave a Reply

