Epiphany

Today, as I was thinking about how attractive I find my Indian friends’ warm caramel colored skin, I had an Aha moment. Suddenly, my childhood next-door neighbor and first crush came into my mind. He had a very deep tan all year round, thanks to his parents swimming pool and a uniform of only OP corduroy shorts. It never occurred to me that his delicious tan was the apex of my affinity for darker skinned romantic partners.
I have always been very attracted to an evenly dark skin tone on a man. I have dated several Latino men, and more recently some Indian men. It makes sense that they remind me of those first romantic feelings for the opposite sex. Thank you, Billy- (wherever you are) for my affinity for darker skin.

Leave a Reply

