Transitions

   It’s Monday morning, and even though I’ve already been awake for an hour and a half I don’t want to get out of bed. Getting out if bed sets the wheels in place and my day will have started, and I am not quite ready for that. I live two lives, and I’m not ready to transition back to the domestic/academic one yet.
   Yesterday was really my transition day. I was Uber driving at 5:30am. All of those people who spent Saturday night partying need rides home Sunday morning. I spent the morning driving, then headed back home with a quick stop for lunch at In n Out. That’s becoming a transition ritual for me, that burger coming home. I stopped by my place just long enough to unload my bags and change clothes. Kiddo was playing a naughty monkey in the school play, and I had to see it since it was the last performance. I met my bestie and her youngest at the auditorium, and I was still suffering the effects of having spent the last three days driving…I guess it’s sort of like getting your sea legs. The effects of perpetual motion. I feel as if I am still in constant motion for a little while after I stop.
   I always enjoy the kids show, and I loved that they added a  ballet dance for Kiddo and one of her monkey partners. I so seldom get to see them dance anymore now that they are not taking private lessons. They command the stage in a way that is jaw-dropping to me. There was a cast party after the show, but I just couldn’t manage it. I needed to get back home to unpack, do laundry, transition to home and decompress.
   Now it’s Monday and I need to be in full swing. I have to go to the bank, pay bills, do two sections of math homework, plus go over my last test and answer the discussion question. I also have to go grocery shopping and clean the bedroom/bathroom….which is why I am still in bed avoiding the day…

Leave a Reply

