Love and Marriage

   I love weddings, and everything about them…I’ve watched all the shows about engagements, wedding dresses, who had the best wedding, arranged marriages, green card marriages…the whole shebang!
   I love them all. Of course I love anything to do with design, from fashion to interior to party planning. I love to watch an event come together, but really it’s about the people. People are fascinating. Intimate relationships are incredibly interesting to me, and I love to get a glimpse into how people manage theirs. I guess that is why I’m studying psychology. I hope that at some point I will actually be able to help people in their relationships.
   For now, I’ll just watch. I don’t think I will ever get married again. I would love to have a stable, long term relationship… to find a person that I want to spend the rest of my life with. I just don’t think that I want the legal formality.
   This realization makes me feel like the odd girl out. My mom has stayed married to my dad for 46 years, even though they can’t get along. My sister got engaged via a long distance relationship because she can’t take care of herself, and my niece ran from one bad marriage to another….having four kids in 6 years along the way. I think the women in my family think they need a man to take care of them. I don’t need a man to take care of me. I got this, and I won’t put up with any nonsense just to have the rent paid for. Oddly enough, I think that puts me in the difficult to date category. So be it…I have a cat šŸ˜‰

One thought on “Love and Marriage

Leave a Reply

