My First Meet Up

   One of my friends encouraged me to use the Meet Up website to find local events, so I installed the app on my phone and joined some groups. Last night, I attended my first Meet Up event. This was an event out in by Meet Up itself, and not one specific group. It was promoted as a ‘Singles Dance Party’, and had speed dating included.
   I purposely missed the speed dating. When I arrived, about an hour and a half after the official start of the party, I was shocked. At 42, I was by far one of the youngest people at the party. One of just a handful under 50. Almost all of the men appeared to be in their 60’s. And oddly enough, most of them were already paired off.    When  I arrived, instead of the promised 70’s, 80’s, and 90’s music…they were playing songs from the 50’s, and alternating between fast and slow songs. Eventually, the DJ did play some better more modern music, but the dance floor remained full of couples spinning, twisting, and dipping. As a single, I didn’t feel comfortable dancing, and there weren’t many options for partners.
I did end up meeting the one man near my age, but I would be hesitant to go to a Meet Up event again.

Leave a Reply

