Go With Your Gut

   I believe in following my gut instincts about humans. I was also raised to be polite. Sometimes, these two things are at odds. The other day, I received a message on a dating site from a cute but way too young man. I must have been bored, because I answered him. In his next message he called me ‘cutie’. This is sort of a pet peeve of mine, and I don’t answer any first message that contains a compliment of my physical self, or a nickname having to do with my sexuality (cutie, beautiful, pretty, sexy, gorgeous, etc). I have found that any man who does this is not worth talking to, anyway.
   I had already answered this man’s first message, and instead of blocking him at this point like I should have, I decided to be polite. I let him know how I felt about his word choice and he was surprised by my reaction. Really? This is 2015. A woman is more than her physical shell. You don’t get to make comments about my face/hair/body before you even meet me.
    We went on to have a discussion about politics and the country, and prejudices. When I asked him if he understood now why his comment was demeaning he said not really, but he was willing to learn. Again, I should have blocked him. Over the next day he kept sending messages asking me what I was doing. He seemed very needy and I was busy. That night he asked when he could fit into my busy schedule. I asked him for clarification of what he wanted. He said he wanted to meet me, take me out and get to know me. I didn’t even know this guy’s name or anything about him. I told him that I was not ready for that yet, and he tried to bully me into saying yes.
   Seriously?! Do you think that disregarding a woman’s feelings is the way to her heart? I should have listened to my gut from the beginning on this one.

2 thoughts on “Go With Your Gut

Leave a Reply

