Own It

   We live in an age of no responsibility. Nobody takes responsibility for their words or actions. I get so sick of hearing “It wasn’t my fault”…” It was out of my control”… or “I had no other choice”…
   The other day, I had tentative plans with a friend. He said he’d know for sure by 11. 11 came and went with no word from him. He finally called around 3, and said  it wasn’t his fault because…. Just take some responsibility. At some point, you realized that you wouldn’t be able to meet me and you didn’t have the decency to let me know.
   During my last work trip, my boss failed to pay the full hotel bill, and never purchased my return ticket (although she reserved it), and didn’t make arrangements to get equipment returned to the company we were working for. All of these things she put off onto other people. No, it’s not anyone else’s fault that you didn’t see any of this through. You’re the boss- you should make sure it’s taken care of.
   No other choice is my favorite excuse. There are a million choices for any decision. You made one, now stand behind it.
   I am difficult to please. I have high standards, I understand that. I also don’t think it’s a bad thing. More people in the world should be holding others accountable. We shouldn’t feel free to try and get away with shit, just because nobody calls us out on it.
  

2 thoughts on “Own It

Leave a Reply

