eHarmony Experiment

   I keep seeing the “Now, communicate free” commercials from eHarmony. I am experienced enough to know that this is not full disclosure on eHarmony’s part, but I thought I could set up a profile and check it out….just see if it’s worth paying for.
   The things they don’t tell you on the commercials are that the “communication” you can do for free is a series of guided communications back and forth, getting deeper and deeper until you get to actual messages that you can write…except that you can’t read or write these without being a paid member, and also that you can’t see anyone’s pictures without being a paid member….not even a profile picture.
   So, I set my profile up…pictures and all, and I waited for my matches. The first day, in the first set of matches, there were a few that sounded interesting to me. I went ahead and sent smiles to those that interested me….without having a clue what they looked like. The next day, I was sent a set of questions from Tom. I still am not sure if I sent him a smile first or not. The questions that he sent intrigued me, so I answered them and sent a set of questions back. He answered those, and took the next step in guided communication….we went back and forth through the hoops until we could write out our own answers to the questions. By that point, I knew that I was interested in talking more with this fellow. I knew that the next step in the guided communication would be a message that I would neither be able to read nor reply to, so I became proactive. I added my email in my profile text, and asked him to contact me off site. He sent a message saying my email had been cut off…I could only see the first few words of his message. So, I changed the way my email was written in my profile, hoping it would not be edited, and waited. The next night I got an email from him. I’m not sure if he figured out my email clue, or if it didn’t get edited, but he sent it and I replied. He asked me to verify info from my profile so that he’d know it was the right person, which I did. He asked me to text him after that.
   At this point, I am very interested in getting to know more about this man, but I still have absolutely no idea what he looks like! Eventually, I asked for a picture. He hadn’t realized that I didn’t see his pictures, and thought that was funny.
   I was much relieved when I got the picture. He was no super model, but no troll either. He’s cute in a middle aged nerdy dad kind of way, which is just perfect for me. He wanted to meet up sooner than later, which was fine by me. We decided on dinner Thursday after I was done with work.
   He was very thoughtful and considerate in finding a restaurant. Honestly, it was a perfect first date. He was waiting for me in front of the restaurant….which was a hidden gem. The ambiance was rich and cozy without being pretentious. The service was excellent and the food was amazing. 
   We started out with a special appetizer of heirloom tomatoes grown in the restaurant garden with an apple cider vinegar dressing, and some fancy cocktails. He got a pear martini, and I got a watermelon freeze. It reminded me of the Slurpee Cocktails we used to make back in the day. We both got steak and potatoes for dinner….both were beautiful and delicious. We finished off sharing a salted caramel sundae for dessert. Even the ice cream was home made! The dinner was full of wonderful conversation, laughing, and just enjoying each other’s company. After dinner, we took a stroll through the restaurant’s garden….a truly magical place!
   I have been working hard on my dating ‘game’, and so even though I didn’t want the evening to end, I had Tom walk me to my car and finish the evening. We chatted a little bit, I gave him a hug, and he kissed me on the cheek. He said he wanted to see me again, and I was smiling so hard that I couldn’t answer.
   Before I had driven a block, I got a text from Tom…a row of smiley faces and thumbs ups. I felt the same way. When he got home, he texted me that he really really liked me and that he hadn’t felt a connection like that for some time. He wanted to know when he could see me again, so we made plans for Sunday. I’m not sure what we’re doing yet, but I can’t wait to see him!

Leave a Reply

