I Should Have Known Sooner

   I should have known sooner that this would eventually end. I should have been sure of what I wanted before we dragged the kids into it. I should have realized that I couldn’t do it….not again.
   I know now that I don’t want to raise more children, not mine or anyone else’s. Not half time or even every other weekend. I can see the light at the end of the intensive parenting tunnel. I’m enjoying a new found freedom because of that, and discovering myself. I can’t put that off indefinitely to put myself last so that the children come first, as they should. I won’t wake up some morning years from now to realize that I resent you because I fell into a life without examining it. I must hurt you now, so that I don’t hurt all of you more later. I’m sorry…

Leave a Reply

