Delicious Dinner

   Cooking can be a very relaxing and therapeutic task for me….sometimes. Tonight was one of those nights. Just me and my daughter….she’s sick with a cold, so I wasn’t sure if she would even eat. No pressure.
   I had found a boxed mix for Sweet Hawaiian Bread, and had been waiting for a chance to try it. It’s one of my favorite kinds of bread, and fresh baked yeast bread is one of my favorite comfort foods. Daughter is a vegetarian, and also dairy free due to tummy issues, so I usually just cook what she can eat.
   The mix was super easy, just took time for rising. While it was on it’s second rise, I started some water boiling with a couple of veggie bullion cubes. I cubed a green bell pepper, and roughly chopped an onion, and added those to the mix. Once the cubes had disintegrated and the veggies were soft, I added two cans of rinsed black beans, some freshly ground black pepper, and a smidge of chili powder. I let it all simmer until the beans were tender, and added salt to taste.
   The beans were delicious, and so was the bread. I served it with a simple green salad, and even my sick daughter ate. Today I enjoyed the simple pleasure of preparing a tasty meal for someone that I love, and that was enough…
Hope

Leave a Reply

