I Had Forgotten

   Through the years of trying to hold my marriage together, I had forgotten that I was more than a wife and mother. I had forgotten that I am also a friend, a lover, a swimmer, a writer, an independent and free thinking woman…..
   I had forgotten all of that, and now I am getting a chance to remember…..how good it feels to slice through the water on a warm day, how comfortable a space designed just for you can feel, how proud you feel when you accomplish something all on your own, and how rejuvenating friendships can be. I am fortunate to have the time to learn these lessons now.
   It would be easy to look at my life and be negative….so easy. I really don’t feel that way, though. I am grateful for what I have, and what I know will be coming into my life. I see nothing but good in my future, even if things don’t change that much. I don’t need that much, maybe. Maybe I am just happy to be out of such a stressful situation. I feel so calm and centered now (for the most part). My confidence in myself has grown, and I can see why someone would fall in love with me.
   I had forgotten what it was to be a whole and complete person, but now I remember.

2 thoughts on “I Had Forgotten

  1. I completely relate to what you are saying here. It is a process of rediscovery for me as well since the divorce. I fight the urge to jump back into another relationship with the wrong type of person every single day and try to make sure I enjoy the little things that are what make me unique.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

