Yes and No

People keep asking me, goodheartedly, if  I am ‘settling in’ to my new place, and I don’t know what to say. Yes…I am mostly unpacked, and no….I still have a lot to do. It wasn’t a typical move, where you just pack up the contents of your home and move it into another. I had to leave half of the household goods for my ex, and pack  what didn’t fit into my bedroom at the roomie’s place into my parents garage, or a storage unit filled with the remnants of my antique business. So I’m still harvesting my possessions from my parents house, and trying to fix all the project pieces that I kept from my business so that I wouldn’t have to buy all new. We are set up ok for day to day life (well, except not having a working fridge), but not yet ready for visitors.
   Part of me feels very proud of the fact that I have made it to where I am. Yes, it’s a small apartment in a bad part of town, but it’s mine. I did it on my own, and it is already functional and homey. And part of me is ashamed that this is all I could do.
   I don’t know where I’ll be in a year, but I’m here now- and I’m trying to make the best of it. Some days are easy, and others are very difficult indeed. I doubt that I am much different from anyone else in that. We all have our ups and downs.
   I’m sure that it can’t be easy for my happily married friends to watch my life changing, either. I’m not sure what I would do if the shoe were on the other foot. I guess the best thing that anyone can do in these situations is to just remain a friend, by whatever means you always did.

3 thoughts on “Yes and No

Leave a Reply

