Happy Birthday to ME

   There’s nothing like being woken up at 1am on your birthday by drunk roommates whispering loudly in the hallway (you know…. in order not to wake you up, only they’re too drunk to realize how loud they really are). Thanks roomies…..I really wanted to celebrate my B-Day right from it’s beginning. Listening to you panting and groaning like animals was just an added bonus. Maybe I’ll wake up to find dog mess in the living room this morning as a cherry on top (I don’t even own a dog).
   I’m a cat person, always have been. Cats curl up to you when you sleep, just like babies. Dogs…dogs are stiff and pragmatic, even in slumber. They’re loud when there’s no need to be,  messy, and impolite.
   I used to think that the idea of a litter box was very odd. ‘Here’s a place to keep all your mess together’ But when you really think about it, it makes sense. I mean, we all have to excrete those things….why not keep it all together and covered up? It makes more sense than going outside and doing it all over the place!
   One of the best sounds in the world is a cats pur. You can hardly not smile in return. That sound let’s you know that everything is right in the world. Cats will even pur when they’re upset to help themselves calm down. Dogs? Dogs only have a noise to tell you they’re angry….as if
you couldn’t already tell from their body language.
   It’s mornings like this, that I am glad to have a fuzzy ball of fluff purring next to me. I’m sure it’s his way of saying ‘many happy returns of the day’…
Hope

Leave a Reply

